Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The knitted Bible

I have found it nearly impossible to choose an image today. After a morning spent editing Venice photos and writing an article for the village yearbook (on walking in the area), I took Mum to Bellingham this afternoon. The Methodist/URC church is hosting an exhibition of the Hartlepool Knitted Bible.

There are 33 Bible scenes depicted using almost entirely knitting. I was a bit sceptical, but we found it enormous fun, seeing many familiar stories told in this way. I suppose it's the modern equivalent of stained glass windows.

They intended only to knit the Last Supper, but then got carried away I guess.

I loved Lazarus emerging in his bandages, Jesus with a large white (knitted) dove on his head at his baptism by John the Baptist, the smiley lions with Daniel, the (knitted) wine glasses at Cana, Moses with the (knitted) tablets, Noah's ark. I could go on and on, but I won't.

I think the school children who visit next week will love it.

We had a typical Methodist afternoon tea with sandwiches, scones and cakes. Mum saw friends from Haydon Bridge church.

A good outing.

PS I have been thinking about organising a Blipmeet in Tynedale for ages. Spurred on by BlipCentral, who have suggested blipmeets between 19th and 29th March, I'm proposing we meet on Saturday 26th March in Hexham at 2pm.
We'll meet outside the Hexham Abbey shop which is very central. There is a good bus and train service from both Carlisle and Newcastle. The main car park (free with a timer disc for £1) is by the Wentworth leisure centre with a short walk uphill into town.
Hope to see you there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.