Dickens Blipmeet

A super day in London starting with a visit to the Vogue Exhibition at the Portrait Gallery.  If you can get to London then this is really worth a look. I was blown away at the skill shown in the photographs - the poses, the lighting... just stunning.  Even if you're not interested in fashion photography it is challenging to work out how some of the photographs were lit.  I will aim to visit again before the exhibition closes.

The next gathering was at Dickens' House in Doughty Street for a Blipmeet following the Feb Dickens Challenge organised by Hildasrose. We had a lovely time starting with coffee (of course) and a spot of lunch. As I have been here before, I took the Lensbaby fisheye and the Sweet 35 to try some different shots.  This one is with me flat on the floor and lens well under the roped off area to catch a different angle on things.

After the Dickens 'museum' we walked to a few spots which would have influenced some of his novels, including an old graveyard (now a public green space) and the back of a hospital which was once a workhouse and would have influenced the description in 'Oliver Twist'. 

 A few of us rounded off the day with a meal before heading to our respective stations for the journeys home.  My train was delayed for half an hour by a 'trespasser' on the line' but I eventually picked up my car from a friend's drive partaking of a glass of wine with her before the last few miles to home.

A great day and many thanks to Hilasrose for the inspiration and organisation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.