Robin

Last night's forecast had mentioned the possibility of an air frost, so my intention was to get up early to catch it. Well, I woke a few times in the early hours but when I got up just after 8 o'clock it had of course disappeared! There was a lot of mist on the reservoir though which looked interesting, but didn't look so good in my photos. Never mind maybe I can try again tomorrow!

Lots of bird song and horror of horrors, people!! During the week I mostly have the place to myself in the mornings and always forget about weekends. I heard and saw a chiffchaff singing his chiffchaff song which is delightful, but he wouldn't stay still enough for me to get a good shot. Saw and heard more Wrens and Long-tail tits too, but all too fast and far away. There were more mallards about on the water and I even snapped a very blurry Moor-hen, which surprised me as we don't tend to get them round here.
I caught this lovely Robin on the entrance/exit fence to the reservoir. It was taken on full zoom again and the back ground is a car parked outside the house on the other side of the road. I've cropped it and farknarkled with it as I could still see the steering wheel and dashboard in the background.

The last couple of days I've noticed the Marsh Harriers are doing their sky- dancing around our way. I got a really blurred shot yesterday but would love to get something closer and sharper!
This afternoon we went out for a walk down at Les Mielles, a nature reserve near home. Normally we don't see much, if any wildlife at all, but this time we saw tufted ducks on the pond and a female Marsh Harrier sitting amongst the reeds. I've put it into extras because although not perfect, this is the closest shot I've managed so far. 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.