Happy Girl

What a birthday treat it was tonight to see Miss E in her school play. And clearly loving it!
It was a joint production with year 3 and 4 and they've been working on it for weeks. Based on a Japanese folk tale Sho and the Demons of the Deep they'd used it as the theme for lots of lessons - art, drama, music, literacy, ICT, design technology and it all came together in their performance.
It was really sweet - lots of singing, poetry, dancing, props, drumming, chanting, shadow puppets. 
It was wonderful to see their creativity and how much they all enjoyed it.
At the end they danced to a pop song (ha ha, showing my age that I don't know what it was!!) and this is Miss E throwing herself into with complete abandon. Her hair was flying and she was beaming. Just brilliant!!
The rest of my birthday was lovely too! I had tea, flowers, chocolates and presents brought to me in bed and Mr K managed not to throw them all over me!!
I had to quickly take Miss L over to the doctors in Bicester before school to get some antibacterial ointment for her face. What started off as a spot has spread into a crusty plague pox. Nice!!!
After rushing them back to school  I went to meet Mrs C and Mr C at Stowe for our usual Tuesday walk. It was freezing so we were pleased to get back to the cafe. As it's my birthday I stuffed my face with a sausage roll, a hot chocolate and sneaked in chocolate brownies. I felt quite sick afterwards!
When I got home I enjoyed a guilt free afternoon on the sofa and in the bath doing pretty much nothing until it was time to go and get the Little Misses.
Then it was all a mad rush! Getting them from school, bringing them home for dinner (three sausages each which elicited a hilarious response from Miss L: A withering look at the plate and the pronouncement that she "would have expected a bit more!!!!") and then rushing back to school in time for Miss E to get changed into her costume and me and Miss L to take our seats and wait for Mr K who made it just in the nick of time!
Once the Little Misses were tucked up in bed Mr K and I stuffed our faces with delicious spaghetti bolognese, a huge garlic bread which should have served five!! and scrummy lemon tart.
What a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.