St Gregory's Alley

Another quaint character filled lane, which I passed as I wandered up St Benedict Street this lunchtime. I used to think Elm Hill was my favourite bit of Norwich, but every lunchtime visiting, then re-visiting all corners of this fascinating medieval city, I find I love it all.

I didn't get to my bead shop as it was closed, so I wandered to the top of the street making a note of all the Yards and Courts I could see. Of those with original names I saw Reeves Yard, Hindes Yard, Queen of Hungary Yard, Little Plough Yard, Gaffers Yard and Lord Howe Yard. It was a slum dense area of the city through to the 1930s. The names of these Yards and Courts are fascinating; often linked to pubs like plough and Queen of Hungary. It is quite easy to imagine the poor conditions. The street now is colourfully filled with music shops, antiques centres, independent retailers and pubs.

Good to get one of the team back today as there has been a lot of sickness in the office this week. I left at 4, home at 5 & was out by 6.30 to Morrisons. Happy with my shop as I've managed to consistently get it to below £70 a week.

Enjoyed giggling at the Sport Relief tonight with Mollie. Frank Spencer made my evening.

Tomorrow Moll & I drive to Ware for a couple of hours with family celebrating at Laura's Hen party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.