Sunrise daffs!

There was a frost as I made my way to the allotment this morning - but also sun which always falls nicely through the trees onto  the church and graves, and at the moment of course, daffodils!
Spent the whole morning on the allotment, sluiced the coop with red mite killer and put all the devilish red mites in the shavings and cardboard in the incinerator for burning in the evening. There were veritable broods of them on the cardboard used to line the nesting boxes to prevent any broken eggs mixing with the shavings and drying to a smelly layer to the wood. The whole process took a long time as people had not done things effectively which meant I had to sort it out. Someone else had said they would get the shavings and a new sprayer, but they didn't put the shavings in the shed so as to fit the wheelbarrow in with the last of the old lot whose bag had split, so they simply left the handlebars jutting out and the door wide open! Then they had emptied the old fluid into the new container - full of bits which plugged the tubes so i had to wash it out! It's so much easier to just do it myself in the first place! Tomorrow we are moving the fence to give the girls fresh ground - wonder how that is going to go - they usually leave as have things on and I'm left to finish the job properly! Plus I think Betsey has scaley leg mites so I've been reading up on treatment - wash legs in gasoline or surgical spirit once a week for 4 weeks and put vaseline on daily!! Ouch! May be a trip to the vets for a kinder treatment! None of the other girls seem to be affected but I will check their legs just in case! 
Rest of the morning I pruned the raspberries, weeded beds, moved a compost barrel and its contents and placed carpet and wooden planks to suppress the grass and weeds! Also discovered another group of alliums I had missed digging up and transferring from the half plot I am giving up. I have placed them near my bench so I can sit and admire them with a cup of tea! By 1.30 I was exhausted!
I had some lunch and sat in the sun whilst Tilly roamed around in the garden - when I awoke the sun had disappeared and Tilly was sitting on my feet! I think she was acting as my protector - or maybe I just made a good perch! 
Final trip to the allotment and red mites incinerated! Spent the rest of the evening convinced I could feel them crawling on my face and body - they probably were! But at least I won't get scaley leg mites! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.