Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

At the Photography Show

I expected to see hoardes of photographers heading for the NEC this morning, but I was surprised to see so many people dressed as characers from comics. There was a Comic Convention, the Big Bang, an Education convention and Creative Crafts, all in addition to the Photography Show.

The train to the NEC was packed to overflowing, with some people unable to find their reserved seats for London. 10 minutes later the vast majority of passengers disgorged and we sorted ourselves into the different halls at the venue.

I had a very good time. Apart from one talk on Landscape Photography, there rest was first rate. Just as well I can't remember the name of the lecturer!

Gavin Hoey on Hidden Gems in Photoshop was superb. I was intrigued, a little, by a talk on Instagram from an Instagram hit. Tomorrow I'll hear Chris Packham and go to the blipmeet.

There was a mini blipmeet when the Meeks (Gavin and Cheryl) arrived at the RPS stand at lunchtime. I was there to meet Bob Gates to discuss Tynedale Photo Group business. (Thanks for lunch in the VIP area, Bob.)

I had some good tips from the Fotospeed stand about the paper problem I've had recently and then even better and different advice from the Epson tech guy. One of the Sony team gave me good advice about the focussing problems I'm having.

There was a stand with lots of cut flowers and pot plants. I don't know why. These two young women were busy making arrangements and I liked the colours.

Tonight I saw an amazing production of The Government Inspector (Gogol) at the Birmingham Rep. The cast was a mixture of differently abled people. There was an audio description for the visually impaired in the audience. Three signers were in the cast and acted as well as signed. It was hilarious, brilliantly produced and acted, quite a joy to witness.

Birmingham is disrupted by major road and building works. It looks unchanged since my last visit 2 years ago. There were far too many people sleeping rough and begging in the city centre as well. Sad to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.