Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Photography Show

Today was my second, and last, day at the show.

It started with a talk by Colin Prior. He talked about the Inuit concept of waiting with great patience. They wait for a seal to come to the surface; Colin waits for the light.  He made some very pertinent and interesting points. His images from Pakistan were mind blowing.

Then to a talk by Albert Watson, a doyenne of celebrity photography. You might just find him in the first extra. I tried not to miss any of his words of wisdom.

Wandering around, I bumped into Hamish Scott-Brown. I was delighted to hear that he now has photo holidays available and he seemed keen for me to join one........ We'll see. (Second extra.)

I met Mark Littlejohn at lunchtime and heard him talk at the Fotospeed stand. I'd seen quite a few of the images, but there were a few new ones. I just love his work.

Finally, I'd booked to do a portrait workshop this afternoon. I hadn't thought much about this, but a group of 6 of us had 10 minutes each with the model, Chiara. She was very helpful, but I wasn't comfortable with the style of photography we were expected to produce. It didn't seem the right place to say anything - after all I'd booked to go on the workshop, so I tried to think of ways to ask her to pose that were less provocative.  I need to think more about this. My camera also played up. As soon as I focussed, the viewfinder went black and so I had to use a lot of guesswork. The background was grey, so i've used a photo that was a mistake 2 days ago, to provide something nicer. I left space for text on the magazine page, as instructed.

The train journey home was tedious but on time.

All is well here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.