Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Kate

This is Kate. She was the inspiration for this. To be fair she is an inspiration full stop, she is also one of my very, very good friends. If you believe in statistics then she shouldn't be here, but she is very much here, alive and kicking and living life to the full and reminding the rest of us to do the same.

So obviously a big birthday with a 0 at the end could not be ignored.  A number of others have a similarly big birthday this year, so we came to celebrate in Leeds, where we all met thanks to being physiotherapists.

We had a lovely lunch, followed by rugby and then sparkle, pizza and cake, before heading into Leeds to revisit a few places and try some I had never been to. I think we all had a good time, even those who were driving.

It has taken a while for me to blip this as I wanted to make sure I had the right words. This woman (and her husband) have dealt with the most shitty news a 35 year old could be given, in the most amazingly positive and inspiring manner. Along the way many of us, not just Carys, have done things they didn't think possible (Susie Hamlin I am talking about you!) to raise money for Breast Cancer Now and support Kate. Five years on, and beating the 10% chance she was given of being here to see 40, I am proud to say she is still an inspiration and more importantly still one of my best friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.