WEDNESDAY OF HOLY WEEK

I have been trying to be creative during this special week to remind myself of all that went on during Holy Week and to give myself something to focus on whilst also taking part in the Passion Play.

I had saved these roses from last year and knew that I would be able to use them one day for a Blip!

As I came back from shopping yesterday a song came into my mind - one that we used to sing when I was about 14 years old and in the Girls’ Choir at my school, Tchaikowsky's Legend - The Crown of Roses - so I found this beautiful rendition by King's College Cambridge Choir, and it brought back so many memories - one of which was very sad for me.  

We had practised the song for sometime ready for the school concert, but for some reason my mother wouldn’t let me go.  Of course, I got into trouble at school - but I was just so sad to miss singing this beautiful song.

When Jesus Christ was yet a child
     he had a garden small and wild,
wherein he cherished roses fair,
     and wove them into garlands there.

Now once, as summertime drew nigh,
     there came a troop of children by,
and seeing roses on the tree,
     with shouts they plucked them merrily.

‘Do you bind roses in your hair?’
     they cried, in scorn, to Jesus there.
The boy said humbly: ‘Take, I pray,
     all but the naked thorns away.’

Then of the thorns they made a crown,
     and with rough fingers pressed it down,
till on his forehead fair and young
     red drops of blood like roses sprung.

You might be interested to see this little snippet about me and my part in the play.  Please forgive my lack of comments - the rehearsals are quite intense at the moment, but I appreciate all your kind comments.  M xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.