Canola

I am very excited because I'm seeing evidence that many of the fields around our village have this year been planted with rapeseed. In a couple of months we will be surrounded by yellow!  The seeds from the rape plant are used to make both animal feed and cooking oil or margarine.  Known as canola oil in the US, it is also used as biodiesel.  Not everyone loves this bright colour on the usually more subdued English landscape, but I love it!  A few plants have already flowered, giving a glimpse of what is to come.

This field is one of my favourite in the area. I love the line of trees on the horizon as I drive along and there are often some beautiful sunsets behind. This evening was particularly lovely and after a very muddy winter, this was our first walk here in a very long time. See a couple of alternative shots in 'Extra photos'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.