Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Red Light Spells Danger...

It's been quite a day - but the evening was by far, the best part.

Marja and her husband treated G & me to the UB40/Billy Ocean concert! [My birthday present from them!] Billy Ocean kicked off the evening at 9pm and his voice is as powerful as ever! I've never seen either of these acts before. I spotted 4 mic stands as I entered the arena - signifying backing singers! You don't seem to see them much these days - and these four were brilliant. One of them even filled in the saxophone solos.

I was reminded that Billy Ocean did have quite a number of hits (my title is the first song I ever heard of his - in the 70s too!), and Dubai did him proud by singing along in perfect time. He is a true entertainer and had us all with him throughout his set.

It took an hour to changeover, so UB40 started at 11 (see extra). They were very good too! A bigger catalog and an hour was not enough time to play all their hits but they kept the audience happy. We got home way too late to contemplate blipping!

And before that, I popped into the office to pack up the things from my desk. They are having a shuffle round, and I had to ensure none of my things go missing. G then picked me up and we headed to Wafi for me to collect a couple of jackets. Nice clearance sale means I get them at a fraction of the cost.

And then we ate and came home for a nap to get some rest before the concert. A really good day, especially since I finally delivered a job I'd been asked - that's been nagging me for weeks. I feel very liberated. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.