Watch Your Back Little Wren!

Dear Diary,

Gaylord has finally been able to destroy one of the hanging feeders.  The birds have taken to using his seed bowl as a back up.  This little wren just plunked herself down in the middle and munched away.  While the other birds came and went to the remaining feeder above she never moved.  Until, that is, a cheeky Chickadee mounted a sneak attack.

I saw it coming but Little Wren did not.  "Oh dear!" I thought, this isn't going to be pretty but at the last moment little Wren turned and confronted her attacker and the Chickadee fled.  Little Wren went right back to her breakfast.  No feathers flew nor blood spilled.  Bully's usually back down when confronted I've always found.

The hectic pace of Holy Week is over and now we settle into preparing for spring.  Cleaning up winter's fall out is first on my agenda but it looks like a rainy day today so that will have to wait.  I will content myself with the drama at the feeding table. 

The one thing we know about the future is that it comes only one day at a time.  - Jeff Rich

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.