Chums

There are two pairs of grebes now at Nanpantan Water. Whereas two weeks ago they seemed paired off, today I saw the two blokes floating alongside each other, quite chums. I don't know what the ladies think. Perhaps the chaps thought it too early to be expending all their energy on enticing their womenfolk to build nesting rafts.

The two ladies were avoiding the gents and sticking close to the reeds. Neither do they seem to have the rich colour that the males have. This is intriguing.

A very lazy day for me today. I stayed under the covers until 11am when Len brought me boiled egg and toast for breakfast in bed. Having polished that up, I picked up my new copy of The Night Manager, and stayed in bed to read it until 1.30 pm. 

I finally got out with Basil for two circuits of Nanpantan Reservoir shortly before 6 pm. The light wasn't marvellous, as you can see. And I haven't got the hang of getting the focus right with the new long lens. I've deleted 30 shots from the import because of lack of focus.

Pizza tonight. A shop one for Len and a home made one for me. Then Maigret on the box. Like the character, the drama was not rushed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.