The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

My thoughtful face

We had just watched Far from the Madding Crowd (2015) with Carey Mulligan as Bathsheba Everdine, and a Ben Fogle lookalike as Gabriel Oake. Thomas Hardy does it for me every time, but I am glad I discovered his writing in my 40s and not in my callow youth. I would not have cared so much about the characters then.

I've had a very social day. Spent the morning alone, pondering my reaction to the many radio programmes I have listened to lately, and thinking about writing projects. Also doing an enormous jigsaw by one of my favourite children's authors/artists, Colin Thompson. His style is totally unique. Worlds within worlds. Jokes hidden where least expected.

Steve came round for lunch and a catch up .He said I should tell my blip readers more about the churchyard I have been frequenting. He is right. I will go there again for a blip and some catch up stories. After he left, my friend Kitty came over with her dog Stella. She and the little B were happy to see each other, and we went for a quick walk so that B could gambol in the fields. Then Kitty had to rush off, and I watched Pointless and later started cooking before my next guest Caroline, arrived. We had supper, and then watched the film I've just mentioned. It feels a little odd to be alone again, but the animals are good company, apart from when they are trying to wake me at 6 am...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.