Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Crescent

One of many highlights from my first exploration of Pontefract, the former Crescent Cinema is an impressive presence, particularly with this mosaic detailing. There seems to be a well supported campaign to bring the building back to its former glory.

Elsewhere, the castle is in the midst of a makeover, hopefully nothing so dramatic as the recent Matrera restoration in Spain.

Butterfly round-up: in the castle herb garden I spied my first Comma of the year and in Pontefract Park my first Peacock. There were a couple of Small Tortoiseshells too, and in the Valley Gardens I had a distant view of a pale butterfly which may have been a Brimstone or an early White, but insufficient for an id.

I resisted the Haribo factory shop.

Butterfly Journal 2016

2. 31/03/16 Comma. Pontefract Castle. (VC63)
3. 31/03/16 Peacock. Pontefract Castle. (VC63)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.