Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Gardening for ladies

Today I did some of the kind of gardening that consists of sitting on a comfortable chair and stabbing the earth in a raised bed with a trowel.  I was joined but lovely Mrs Blackbird who delicately picked out the worms and made soft clucking noises.  She was a real delight - until I crept off to get the camera, when she flew away! 

Later I was accompanied by this peacock butterfly.  I have to say I don't know if s/he's female - are they differently dressed?  Anyway, s/he sat in the sun in my grunge corner where all the stones and chalk dug out get thrown.  Naturally, I didn't throw them at her.  But don't they just love sunning their wings, especially when they can also feel radiant heat underneath?

I don't know if it's early to see peacocks.  Probably not.  Though this year all I've seen so far are the yellow brimstones, so this fairly ordinary shot felt it a wonderful marker of the coming summer.

Thank you all for being so kind yesterday.  Where I didn't quite finish commenting last night, repairs will be made today.  Enjoy your evening  xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.