An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

This won't hurt...

Had my appointment with the physiotherapist this morning at 9.30am.  To say I wasn't looking forward to it is an understatement as my hip felt quite stiff and sore when I got up and wasn't much better by the time I left the house.

Got there in the pouring rain at 9.30 on the dot.  Three very high steps to negotiate to get in the front door.  Exercise from the start ;-)

  So, how did it go I hear you ask :-)  Well once in, my 30 minute appointment ran into an hour and a half!   I don't think she was prepared for how complicated my medical history is. 

Although she's a physio, she's also a whole load of other things too and offers many services including acupuncture, biopuncture, homeopathy, homotoxicology and massage, to name a few. 

What I found most exciting is the interest she took in a condition I was diagnosed with in my 20s that the medical profession basically ignore and we discussed at length how this affects my health and could be a major contributor to the issues I have now.   What was even more exciting was she has a plan to help improve things.  Time will tell if it's an effective plan but I'm willing to give it a go.

Then came the actual physio bit.  She wanted me to lie face down on her (what looked to me) very narrow treatment table.  Due to my hip pain, I wasn't even sure that I would be able to lie flat on my front the table but to my surprise I managed it.  Slowly, but I got there.

It didn't take her long to tell me that my pelvis is way out of alignment.  She told me to breathe deeply in and out whilst she did some  manipulation of my lower back and pelvis.  I thought it would be painful but it actually felt good.  That said, she said I might not be friends with her tomorrow or the next day but will hopefully be talking to her again by Thursday.

I've booked my next appointment for Friday morning and in the meantime will do the exercise she's given me.

I also came away with her recipe for flax seed crackers plus a few samples (see extras) and they are delicious!   Had them for lunch with goats cheese and olives.  Yum :)

Her approach to health dove tails perfectly into the advice I got from the nutritionist last year so I feel back on track and happy that she's looking at my health holistically and not just treating symptoms.

Now pass me the painkillers!  ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.