Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Pestilence

I am officially taking part in Cailleach's Wild Wednesday challenge! [Sorry Cailleach, I had to mention you; I've been thinking about this blip all week even in the midst of my busyness!]
 
So, many of you will know I've grown up in Dubai, essentially a desert though you may find it hard to believe it, and as such, there were no gardens anywhere. There is a lot of greenery now, and I have the privilege to look out onto a garden that I don't have to maintain, but even there, I have not come across snails!
 
Last Wednesday, when we went to inspect the first of the flats we are furnishing, I could not believe how many snails there were - on the glass, on the floor, up the walls, on the boundary wall, you name it, they were everywhere except indoors; and if they had a chance, they would be there too. This, of course, made me instantly dislike them. Why can't they just stick to grass? There is absolutely NOTHING in the "garden" they are trying to inhabit. There is just sand and man-made things.
 
Two cleaners spent quite a bit of time cleaning the flat and outside area, and I specifically asked them to get the snails off this wall. I went a few days later and ... well, you're looking at what I found. I had to take a picture as the long shadows were interesting. So my first thing on wild is these pests.
 
My extra is of the Mimosa which is growing [wild] here along the roadside (and I guess carefully tended to in gardens as well). G absolutely loves the flowers and the complexity of them. I must have taken 50 shots to try and get a decent picture, but alas, the wind blows a lot here, and the branches kept moving, so this is the best.
 
And today... IKEA called us early to say they were coming to deliver two beds and take away two over-sized beds. Then two guys from the developer showed up to fix snags. We had not eaten breakfast, so headed to the seafront, first to collect some laundry and then to a cafe overlooking the Med. We actually saw the Emirates flight come in, on schedule at 11:15!
 
Then it was the usual racing around like mad trying to get things done, including collecting important documents from the Bank and a trip to Alpha Mega, a department store that stocks cool stuff. Had to race back to the flats again because a sound system was being delivered (argh). We then spent 3 hours sorting and unpacking the bedding and kitchen items we bought yesterday. I can't believe how long these things take.
 
Came home to shower and get ready to meet with friend Rozalia and her sister whom we had visited on Friday. They know of a good Indian restaurant in Dhekelia and wanted us to try it. Believe it or not, we actually called in at Alpha Mega on the way there to finish the very last bits of shopping. I think we are truly finished with it all now. Simon and his colleague worked several hours in the evening hanging up blinds etc. trying to finish everything so that there won't be any dust created by drilling during the final clean tomorrow.
 
But the biggest news of the day has to be that Rozalia came with the Title Deeds to my apartment in Limassol. A huge WOW moment for me. The irony is that I have never actually had the keys to this flat as it has always been rented out!
 
We called in at the flats on the way home to see Simon but just missed him. It gave a chance to off-load the last bits of shopping and then, we finally got home to pack, blip, catch up. It is now past midnight, and I really need to get to bed. The admin will just have to wait.

Oh, I just found out (whilst trying to check-in online) that the flight is delayed by several hours due to Greek airport workers going on strike?! I'm not sure what I think about that! This has been a most unusual holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.