Maruia Falls

Day two of the impromptu road trip saw us head home from Murchison. Not long into the journey we stopped at Maruia Falls.

Although we set out with the intent to have as few stops as possible so as to make the journey for the canine passengers a bit more comfortable, I realised just before the entrance to the falls that I had not photographed it, so this seemed a good opportunity.

Although I had my X-T1 and 16-55 f/2.8 lens with me - my go to kit for most things - I also packed my X100T with a set of filters, so this is what I used for this shot. To smooth out the waters and to post the rainbow colours I used a combination of a polariser and a 3 stop ND filter, as well as a 2 stop hard edged gradient.

The time on the road does not end today, as tomorrow I head off to Lake Tekapo for event and night sky shots for University of Canterbury Alumni at Mount John Observatory. Fingers crossed for clear skies...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.