Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A sad day

I don't know how to describe today. I have just come back from the funeral of my friend's 14 year old son, and no words can describe the raw grief and utter sadness of that event. I cannot imagine a more difficult day for the parents and their family to endure - and yet the human spirit prevails and somehow they found the strength to all stand up in front of a church filled with crying friends and family to pay a tribute to their beloved son.

It rained all day, which was appropriate as the heavens wept at the loss of this boy's life. Half the church was filled with his friends of a similar age, and to see some of them shuddering with tears and emotion was heart breaking.

It has been an emotionally draining day, but what I felt is so insignificant to what my friend must be feeling, my heart goes out to her and her family I can only wish them strength and love for each other as they cope with this challenging time. It is not something one ever expects to deal with, having the promise of watching your baby grow into a man being taken away from you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.