Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sweet dreams

I have arrived in Bordeaux after a trouble free journey from Newcastle via Amsterdam. I must say that the folk at Charles de Gaulle could pick up a few tips on good customer service from the staff at Schiphol.

My B & B is excellent. It's a small house in a quiet street.

All I could manage this evening was the short walk to the local bistro. I arrived at 1930 when they opened but they did not take orders until 1945......... It was really entertaining as I tried to translate the menu with my little phrase book. I'm glad I asked about the salad in the starters - it was pig's tripe................I think that's right!

I had a good meal and at the very end after I'd paid the bill, the maitre d', suddenly spoke to me in English with a funny little smile on his face. That's France for you!!

Tomorrow I will explore Bordeaux, but in the meantime this triptych will look down on me as I sleep.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.