Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

One of those days

Mum is due to have her second hand operation tomorrow. She has hardly been out for weeks, so I took her to the Queens Hall in Hexham to see a new textiles exhibition. I had misread the times of opening and the hall is closed on Sundays.

So, we went to Aldi and stocked up on fruit and veg mainly.

Margret came this afternoon. She has visited a lot of Greek islands but not Sifnos, so she was keen to hear about my trip. She told me funny stories about various trips she and Guy had made, including their honeymoon which was spent in Greece.

We laid down plans for tomorrow because Margret has an eye appointment in the RVI while Mum has her hand operation.

Then Mum had a migraine.

Then disaster struck. She was feeling better and had come for dinner. Bowlby always receives a cat treat just before we eat in the hope this will settle her for the duration.  Tonight she accidentally caught a claw in Mum's right hand. The result is a full thickness tear which I have pulled together with steristrips.

There is no way that the surgeon will operate on the same hand with a potentially dirty wound so tomorrow is cancelled.

It is very disappointing for Mum and we now have to work out when another operation can be scheduled, i.e. when I'm home for more than a few days.

The blip is a ribbon embroidery Mum has made for the surgeon to show him that his first operation has allowed her to return to needlework. He won't be receiving this tomorrow after all.

I had sad news tonight of the death of a very old friend. It's sad for her family and friends, but not for Joan who had advanced dementia and has been nursed devotedly at home for the last few years. She was very kind to me at a difficult time in my life and I will always remember that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.