Derwentwater Day

Our last day in the Lake District today and what a beautiful day it has been.
We started with a stroll into Cockermouth (Ros - I didn't buy any shoes!) and then we went to Keswick.  We parked by the Lake and decided to take the boat over to Hawse End. We were just going to potter about by the Lake but ventured up a little higher onto the lower slopes of Catsbells. We don't trust ourselves going up places!  So that was quite adventurous for us!  We realised that we knew part of the walk round Manesty Woods  and we thought we could try to get across the Boardwalk to Lodore for the first time ever!  Since row and Trev shows us where it was two years ago it's been underwater every time we've been there.  Today we were able to walk across it so we did!  And caught the Launch back to Keswick from Lodore.
Goulash in the Dog and Gun, then set off home at 5 o'clock.

What a lovely day - I hope you like these reflections on the Lake.  I think they are rather special.

On going to High Places
 
High Places attract me.
Closer to God.
A place to talk and listen.
But I need to know how to get there
Without wrong turnings.
 
High Places fill me with fear.
Uncertainty.
What if I get lost?
What if I fall off?
The path must be clear.
 
I must not fall.
   
I try not to be afraid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.