JOY IN THE ORDINARY

I wasn’t sure whether Mr. HCB would go down to Bristol for cricket today, as Keith and Graham weren’t going, but as it was such a beautiful day, he decided to go.

It’s now just after midday and the birds are singing, the sun is shining and the sky is blue so I had a wander round the garden again.  The apple tree outside our neighbours’ fence is full of bloom and I was happy with the few photographs I took - however, I noticed a hoverfly on one of the blossoms so I zoomed in and this was the result.

I was challenged in an email from a friend this morning “to find joy in the ordinary” and I certainly feel happier for seeing this.

I didn’t stay out for long, as there was quite a chilly breeze, but am looking forward to being taken out this afternoon by my friend, Caroline.  We haven’t seen each other for a few weeks, so we have a lot to catch up on - there will certainly be coffee, and there may even be cake!

There is no glory 
     in star or blossom 
          till looked upon by a loving eye; 
there is no fragrance in April breezes 
     till breathed with joy 
          as they wander by. 
William C. Bryant

P.S.  Many thanks for your stars, hearts and kind comments for yesterday's blip - which are much appreciated - the caterpillar could be a "leaf roller" but they won't be on Mr. HCB's blueberry bushes for long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.