Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Skylark (not meadow pipit)

Another day with perfect weather for walking, so I took myself out on a route from Simonburn.

There are lambs everywhere; some very new, some older and more confident to leave their mothers, but scuttle back to safety if they think there is any danger. Skylarks were singing a full throated song overhead.

This skylark who I originally identified as a meadow pipit (thank Harry) sat on the stone wall for a few minutes and I crept nearer and nearer with my camera. You can see what good camoflague he has against the colours of the landscape here.

I saw my friend, Michael, who farms at Great Lonbrough. A few weeks ago I dropped a glove near his farm and he found it for me. I collected it today. It had been on the quad bike all this time ('nuff said). Harry, his sheepdog, is now 8. I was subjected to a thorough licking of friendship.

At Goatstones  Farm the men were leaving after breakfast - at 2pm. They had their packed lunches with them. My friend Sue was at home and gave me coffee which was very welcome. We had a good natter about photography and her family in America and about a possible coast to coast trek she may do in Cuba in the autumn.

I came home later than I expected, but it was a grand day out. More photos on Facebook later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.