Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Pin hole cameras

Today's blip is a snatched one of Paul Mitchell who spoke at the Hexham Photo Group tonight. He is a pinhole camera expert and gained his FRPS with a panel of creative pinhole images. He also makes wonderful images of woodlands and we saw both tonight.

He is a good speaker with lots to share.

Flashcube - you would have loved this. (Marcus, you too, but it is a bit far for you to come for a meeting!)

First thing this morning, I packed the car with rubbish and set off for the tip. Then I did a big food shop so we are stocked up with easy to prepare food for the next 10 days. After I have walked, I never feel like doing much cooking, so I'm glad I can buy instant meals for these occasions.

So it was an OK, ordinary day. Then I read the emails that had come in. There was a message to tell me that Michael, a farmer I know from my walking, had committed suicide yesterday. He was farming alone and struggling hard because of joint problems. He was said to be a loner. I am so sad for him. He becomes another statistic of the bachelor male farmer who is isolated and ends his life. I hope he did not suffer at the time of death.

Tomorrow the Walking Festival begins and life goes on.

It is John Donne's quotation that comes to mind:
"Any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind, and therefore never send to ask for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.