Targe Maker

I went for a walk in North Kessock during the late morning. It was sunny again and warm. A heron was fishing on the edge of the Firth and kept flying off in front of me as I approached.
There are some lovely little house along the front and some interesting buildings. This little building  is squeezed between two houses and is or was were Joe Lindsay the Targe Maker makes Targes, or did as I'm not sure if he still does.
A targe is like a shield used by Highlanders during Jacobite times as 'main means of defence in battle'. 'This was a circular shield about 19'' in diameter, with the front covered in tough hide and the back in deerskin. The front was decorated with brass studs and plates which occasionally had cut outs, backed with red cloth (traditionally a piece of red coats uniform).'
By the time of the Battle of Culloden, 8 miles from North Kessock, which happened on April 16th 1746, 270 years ago, and with  the disastrous defeat of the Jacobites the carrying of the targe was banned and many destroyed or put to other uses.
I carried on my walk under the bridge and along the track managing to avoid the heavy rain showers that I could see coming over. A lovely evening again but getting colder !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.