Bluebell Time

Mr K took Miss E swimming first thing and she was giddy to discover that her friend Miss A has been moved up to the next level too and will be joining her in the new class. 
They went to Harris + Hoole afterwards as usual and then came home to collect me for our annual trip to Greys Court near Henley. It's always one of my favourite days of the year!
The day followed its usual routine. We're nothing if not creatures of habit in this household! 
Straight to the magnificent bluebell woods first. As always the sight and smell of them took my breath away. Just spectacular!
There was the usual clambering around in dead trees, jumping off tree stumps and taking loads of photos which don't begin to do it justice. The Little Misses both had turns with my camera which they enjoyed. I think Miss E may have taken two of the extras!
From the woods we walked into the gardens. Definitely my favourite National Trust gardens.
We briefly watched Morris Dancers, then went and ate our picnic down by the cafe. Just tea and coffee bought for Mr K and I in keeping with our newly implemented economy drive. Obviously bringing it in flasks would have been better but we're taking baby steps!!
Then it was to the shop to spend marble money. Miss E bought a fabulous kite and they spent the next hour running round like loons flying it! Exercise and fun - brilliant!!!
The gardens were as beautiful as ever. Annoyingly lots was cordoned off - to protect the grass apparently - so we couldn't get close to the newt pond but we still had a lovely wander through to the tree fort. Lots of climbing by my little monkeys and then, when it got too cold to sit in there any longer, we wandered back into the sunshine to the lawn by the house for more picnic and kite flying.
Another wonderful day!! 
Just like 20132014 and 2015!!!
Annoyingly as soon as we got back into the car I felt shivery and snotty and weak and by the time we got home I felt like death and took myself off to bed.
I always get colds so quickly which knock me out completely. And I'm pathetic!!!! Hopefully a decent night's sleep will help shake it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.