Piggy Back Weevils

I bought my first Canon 7D and my 100mm macro lens nearly five years ago and a weevil was my first capture. I love them. I went down the field with Jazzy today, sporting my kneeling pads, looking for that bug, a green nettle weevil. I soon spotted one and knelt amongst the nettles to get a good angle. It clocked me and and started to retreat and at that point I noticed a pair of much smaller weevils which I thought were mating.

Not at all, they were just playing piggy back. I've found a pic online where three are playing the game. I love their trunk-like snouts. These weevils are quite common but are not often noticed as they look like specks of debris. I was lucky they didn't throw themselves on their backs and play dead as is their wont. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.