Maldon Mud Race

This started in a pub as a dare after a few pints. It used to take place on New Year's Day but too many of the competitors were succumbing to hypothermia. It has grown into a huge event with 300 people racing and hordes of spectators. The course isn't very long but involves crossing the River Blackwater at low tide through the famous/notorious, thick, black mud. The leader and eventual winner of the race stayed upright but most of the other competitors were reduced to crawling the course.

I didn't fancy joining the crowds on the prom so decided to try to shoot the race from the northern bank of the river. I met some nice people and their dogs while I was waiting for the start and got my first ever pic of a cuckoo. I thought it was a bird of prey at first but then it called its name. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.