Busy May Day For Tits

Backblipping owing to tech issues.

I arrived outside John Lewis at 9:50 ready for my 10:00 am appointment to see someone in the technical department about my laptop. I had been asked to bring it in for a health check after I had related my broadband issues. I stood alone at first then a few other people arrived, including a youngish man wearing dirty jeans, trainers and a baseball cap. He was carrying a computer and cables.

A member of the JL staff came down the flight of about ten steps and opened the door. I walked towards the entrance and was jostled by dirty man as I tried to enter the shop. Then dirty man started to run up the steps. I don't know what came over me but I started running too, telling him that I had a 10:00 am appointment. At the top he swerved through the vacuum cleaners and I shot past the Nutribullets. It was a dead heat at the tape across the entrance to the technical office. I asked again if he had an appointment and got a tirade of abuse. A shocked-looking female staff member removed the tape and pressed the button for service. When the guy who I had come to see appeared, dm lunged forward, loudly launching into his computer issues. I decided to keep quiet and wait until he had been dealt with as I didn't want to make things difficult for the JL tech guy. I was pleased with my sprint across the shop floor and that I had stood up for myself.

On the way home through a traffic calming area someone went blatantly against the arrows, causing me to make an emergency stop. My camera, with 400mm lens attached, flew off the front seat and landed in the footwell with a thud. Vile people about on a bank holiday.

I was glad to get home and to see my pair of blue tits working hard to feed their brood and keep the nest clean. The bird in the image on the right, which could be sharper, is removing a faecal sac. These natural membranous poo bags are an amazing way to keep the nest sweet. 

Today's poem is since feeling is first by EE Cummings.https://genius.com/E-e-cummings-since-feeling-is-first-annotated

I do find EEC's style regarding upper and lower case a bit annoying but I like this. I think I get it. It's a bit, " 'Tis better to have loved and lost Than never to have loved at all." Cummings' second wife was beautiful, vivacious and party-loving but cruel to him. The marriage soon failed. He was grief-stricken but treated the experience as a blessing. I like, "for life's not a paragraph And death i think is no parenthesis" without really knowing what it means.            

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.