DERELICT SUNDAY

After a great service at church this morning, when I was pleased that after 8 long weeks, I was able to sing, we went out for a drive over the Wiltshire Downs to look for something for Derelict Sunday.

We eventually came across this brick built store, with what looked like a coffee percolator on the top, which seemed  very odd - but we think that this may have been a water storage area and perhaps whoever looked after it tested the water by having a quick brew - we can't think of any other explanation!  

While Mr. HCB stayed at the roadside to look after the car, I went right into the small field, being very careful where I put my feet - I’ve had enough problems with my knees without doing any more damage.

I wonder what secrets this little building holds.  There is a house just along the road, so perhaps next time we are out there, I will knock the door and ask if they know anything about it.

With the job done for Derelict Sunday, we drove off and then suddenly saw a beautiful peacock in a gateway, so the “very obliging” Mr. HCB stopped again and I went back to take a photograph, which is in my extras.  I wasn’t fortunate enough to see the peacock’s tail open, but it certainly surprised us to see it just there.

So, one abandoned and derelict building and a beautiful peacock - is one more pleasing to the eye than the other?  I guess it depends what you’re looking for!

People often say that 
'beauty is in the eye of the beholder,' 
and I say that the most liberating thing about beauty 
is realising that you are the beholder. 
This empowers us to find beauty in places 
where others have not dared to look, 
including inside ourselves. 
Salma Hayek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.