It is ludicrous.

It is ridiculous. Madness. Out of control. Not remotely sensible.

On the table by my chair there are six remote controls, a telephone and an internet radio.

Between them they offer me 239 different buttons to press.

On my knee is an IPad with 291 Apps. And in my pocket an iPhone with.....oh I have lost the will to count.

At my advanced age (81 next week) I should be pouring scorn on this digital world and wallowing in nostalgia for the simple life of the past when one had to walk across the room to change the tv channel.

My friends and family all fall about laughing.

And yet I love it. I can sit here and control my world. Instantly call up classical concerts or operas, read almost any book published, watch thousands of films and missed tv programmes, communicate with all my friends, read about all my little illnesses and so much more. Including, of course, blipfoto.

I have more power than a Roman Emperor.

Where will it all end?
Well i suspect that the birthday gift Mrs. K. Has for me next week will have remote control number 7.

Surely there can be no more? But then in a few years I may not be able to use the vacuum cleaner and I shall need a remote for that little robot which will scurry around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.