Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

St Paul's Cathedral

Today the school Chapel Choir were invited to sing Evensong at St Paul's Cathedral, so we drove up to London to get Thomas there in good time for the pre-service rehearsal. We had lunch at Itsu (a sushi lunch had been promised by me when Thomas was feeling a bit annoyed at giving up his Bank Holiday Monday for school). We met the rest of the choir and the staff just after lunch, and while I was taking some photos of the choir outside on the steps of St Paul's I noticed a beautiful bride having her pre-wedding photo shoot. I managed to sneak a shot of the bridal couple too, see extra photos.

Evensong only started at 5pm so Gavin and I had a few hours to kill, so we ended up walking all around the area with me taking photos, and only stopping once for a tea and some macarons at a very attractive café. By 4.30pm my feet were so sore (I was not wearing the best shoes for that much walking) that I was quite relieved to go sit in St Paul's and wait for the service to start. It is a huge cathedral and the sound can get lost in there but the choir did very well and sang beautifully - luckily they knew all the pieces already as they sing them at school.

As soon as it finished we rushed off back to the car as Gavin had to be at the airport by 7.30pm as he is flying to Australia tonight for a 2 week trip. He has just phoned me and he made it to the airport in good time. I am about to rest my sore feet by lying on the sofa and will watch some TV.

I took so many photos that I did not know which one to blip - there are some extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.