BFM - Baby's First Movie

It was a public holiday and a day of firsts.  The FIRST time Olivia has slept all night in her own bed since I have been here.  She woke at 6.45 and then went back to sleep on the couch for an hour with me guarding her.  (it didn't last though, by 11.30 p.m. she was back in her parents' bed). 

It was overcast and hazy and humid, although I did manage a swim, so it was decided we'd go to the movies, to see 'The Jungle Book', 2016 version.  Olivia's FIRST visit to a cinema to see a film.  She was very good, watched the film and made tiger and monkey noises at appropriate times and only fell asleep on her dad's knee in the last half hour.  It was VO with Berhasa Malay and Chinese subtitles.  Neel Seetha, the only actor is excellent.  5 stars recommended. I loved it and there were THE songs!

Then to Bubba Gump Shrimp Company for lunch, Olivia's FIRST visit there too.  No seats in the AC so we sat in the heat and I regretted my choice of coconut shrimp, but the mango and orange juice, with loads of ice, was welcome.

The to Kidzone where Olivia met Lego and Duplo for the FIRST time.  Proved difficult to tear her away even if it was only to go to the play area.  Malls are very well equipped for children. I kept the boys' Lego.  It's in a big red trunk in La G, in France, probably never to be seen again.  C'est la vie.

On the way home, in the rain, G reminisced about 'Going Round the Twist', the Australian kids' show he watched a teenager.  I Youtubed the theme tune later 'Did you ever feel like this ...'  I'm often amazed at the things he remembers about growing up that I've forgotten.  He left home 16 years ago to go to Uni and the Army and it's only in the last 2-3 years I've had much communication/contact with him.  But I do remember the Twist lighthouse.

The storm raged (crash, bang) while were at Jaya and beyond and once home WH worked and G and Olivia slept. I sewed.  Later no-one was hungry so G and I watched 'Birdman' and then I sewed some more while he tried to get Olivia to bed at her normal time of 9.30 ( see above).

Still hot, still humid and wet cushions and a muddy balcony.

(I had a FIRST too, my first visit to Uniqlo).

BFM , 98.6 is the radio station we listen to here, Business FM. They run a trail that gives different expansions of the acronym, BFM. I finally got one that worked today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.