An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A Lovely Surprise...

Backblip


I was just about to lose my temper negotiating with Alan to take his antibiotics and codeine when I got a phone call from my lovely friend (and Chief Bridesmaid :-) Fiona.  

She's been in Italy making sculptures for a client for a few weeks and popped home to Scotland for 5 days before heading back to New Zealand.  I didn't think she'd have time to see me on this very short visit, so was delighted to get the call saying she could drop by for a coffee with her mum and sister.  Three for the price of one, brilliant! 

Isn't it funny how the couple of hours before they arrived seemed to go on and on, yet the two hours they were here went by in a flash.  I feel totally spoiled as this is the second time I've seen Fiona this year as she came home at the start of the year for a holiday.  It will be over a year before she's back again.

It was so lovely to see her mum and her sister.  I saw her sister about 18 months ago but haven't seen her mum for at least 12 years.  Lots to catch up on.  

Fiona's mum and my mum were close friends when they were young, before life took them in different directions.  I felt quite emotional when she gave me a cuddle as there's no women of that generation left in my family.   It was a mum cuddle by proxy.

I shall warn you now that Fiona brought me three beautiful bunches of tulips so plenty blip fodder for the next week at least ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.