An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

An Unexpected gift...

Today I received a totally unexpected gift that has blown me away.

I know I've been going on about how wonderful our builders are, well today they, well one in particular, went a step beyond.

Last week I shut myself in the dining room and was wading through a pile of ironing when one of the guys, AP, came to ask me a question about something relating to the work he was doing.  As usual when ironing, I was using my time wisely to listen to the best, the amazing, the utter genius that is Kate Bush, and at fair volume.  

As he came in the room I reached out to lower the sound and to my surprise he said, "Oh please don't turn her down on my account.  She is my absolute favourite!" 

 Now I have been a fan of Kate Bush since I sat transfixed in front of the TV age 11 watching her on TOTP in 1978 performing Wuthering Heights (I remember asking my gran for one of her old net curtains and wrapping it round myself to make a white floaty skirt and performing Wuthering Heights in front of my bedroom mirror :-) and apart from David (a fan but not as obsessed as me) I have never actually met another real, proper, genuine Kate Bush obsessive fan, despite the huge following that she has.  AP was the same, none of his friends are fans and he apparently gets a fair bit of ribbing from his colleagues over his obsession.  We spent the next 15 minutes enthusiastically sharing our views on her music, performance, genius.  It was hilarious!  Like suddenly being allowed to talk about a great family secret lol!   

I have endured years of gentle (and not so gentle) ribbing from friends about my love of her and her music but none of them really understands how amazing she is!  (I remember one friend walking in whilst I was listening to 50 Words for Snow and their look of complete confusion as to why anyone in their right mind would choose to listen to Stephen Fry recite 50 words for snow :-)) and I was absolutely gutted when I couldn't get to see her live in August 2014 when she played 22 nights at Hammersmith Apollo.

Anyway, back to this morning and I was sitting in the kitchen when AP arrived and said he had something for me.  He produced a programme from the Before the Dawn concert (which he had been lucky enough to get a ticket for) including a piece of Before the Dawn confetti that was fired from the cannon on the night.  

I assumed he had brought his programme to let me have a look at it but no, he had brought it for me to keep!  Apparently he bought two programmes on the night incase something happened to one of them but decided that since like me, he had never met another genuine Kate Bush obsessive fan, he would give it to me!  How lovely is that?!!  I was literally speechless.

I have spent the evening pouring over it cover to cover more than once whilst listening to the wonderful woman.

I am H.A.P.P.Y.

:-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.