An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Standing Stone...

I've blipped this megalith before.  Info on it here if you're interested in ancient stones :D 

No builders today due to the bank holiday.  Bliss.  Was up early though as my car had to be at the garage for 10am for its first MOT.

After some careful thought, we have decided that now David's retired, having two separate cars is a bit unnecessary, especially since I've had my car for three years and it's only just turned 5000 miles this week!  It's a bit of an expensive ornament.  Plus, if there ever is a time where we are doing different things on the same day and we both require a car, then there's always Alan's car as a back up (assuming he's not out and about in it of course.)  This decision also means that David will trade in his car (his beloved Audi A7) and the new car will be "ours" rather than me giving up mine and using his, as I know that's how it would be perceived by both of us.

So with this in mind, David has been on the case of researching our new car (OMG, this is David in his element.  He LOVES cars and the thrill is all in the chase!  :-)) that meets his and my list of criteria.

My wish list included 4 wheel drive, elevated driving position (I currently drive a VW Tiguan and love being higher up.  Having driven a VW Scirocco in the past, there's no way I could go back to that feeling of my backside being inches off the road!) and being able to get in and out of it with relative ease.  David's criteria were similar but also included as many bells and whistles as possible (he's been spoiled by the Audi) and room for his golf clubs :-))   

The Range Rover Evoque was on the list but I know he thought it was more a yummy mummy car (that's all you see driving them around here) so it was languishing last on the list of possibilities.   I was most keen to see the Audi Q5 (I almost got a Q3 last time round) and we planned to also look at the Volvo XC90, Jaguar F-Pace and Mercedes GLC.

First garage on our list on the motor mile was Mercedes so in there and straight to the GLC (well after more than a lingering glance at C Class convertible.  Not on our list at all but sooooooo very lovely :-)  Met by a very nice and not at all pushy salesman.   Open door.....oh my VERY nice.  I like it!  But can I get in easily?   Yes!!!  Well minus the silly side skirts I can.   Perfect driving position, comfortable seats (extendable leg rest perfect for me and D but for different reasons :-)  Just perfect all round.  And loads of storage space under the floor of the boot.  Perfect for camera equipment and it's lockable.   Completely smitten with this car.

Volvo garage next and the xc90.  Lovely (but big!) from the outside.  Open door.  Driver's seat almost level with my armpits!  Not quite but may as well have been as there's was no way I could get in there without a major struggle...or a step.    

Audi next and anticipation levels building as I really l liked this car on all the literature and You Tube reviews D had shown me.  D's A7 is from this garage so they know him well so we were met with a warm welcome.  again no pushy salesman.   Quite refreshing.   Up in the lift and there, in all it's glory, the Q5.   Open driver's door praying the seat won't be too high, it's not.  Bottom on seat, swing legs in and....major disappointment.   It just didn't look or feel like I expected it to.  Maybe my expectations were too high but I just didn't bond with it at all.  

David got in the passenger side and I could see by his face he felt the same.  When the salesman came back over to talk to us, the best thing I could find to say was I l liked the steering wheel.  

Now I have no doubt that the Q5 is a damn fine car and I my apologies of you have one and feel I am being harsh, but I think in this instance, because we have done our homework and really know what we need and want from a car, it's been much easier to see when and if something suits or doesn't.  And this time round, it doesn't, which is sad as I am a huge fan of Audis.  And, although I could get in it, I did get in the Mercedes more easily, so that was a major tick in favour of the Merc.

We headed home for lunch after that having decided not to look at the F-Pace mainly because we think it's higher than the Mercedes and all the reviews talk about it's sporty ride.  We're looking for comfort :-))

So, I think the Mercedes GLC is the one.  Now the real challenge begins;  finding one with the spec level we want but within our price range.  David enjoys that chase too.  I'll just await being told he's found it.



John & Norma
Sunny Daffs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.