An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Middle of the Road Megalith...

This is one of the many standing stones dotted around Perthshire. I had no idea till we moved here that there are so many. They are literally by the side of the road.

I find megaliths absolutely fascinating. Pondering their purpose is intriguing but it's the people who put them there that interest me the most. Who were they? What kind of lives did they lead? How did they manage to move, carve and erect such heavy structures? Why did they choose to position the stones where they did? No one seems to have a definitive answer.

THIS one is known as the Easthill stone. More info HERE and HERE.

Busy day here. Anna and Alan went out in the sunshine and walked up to Gleneagles. They couldn't get past the road block no matter how charming they both were. Pair of chancers! :) They returned and went to the summerhouse instead.

In the meantime I made a gingerbread and a Victoria sponge. The gingerbread smells divine but sank slightly in the middle due to my oven shelf pulling out then getting stuck going back in, so my gingerbread was exposed to a drop in temperature for longer than I would have liked. Once it's smothered in icing I don't suppose anyone will care. The Victoria sponges are perfect though. :-)))

I can't wait till the GBBO is finished as this urge to bake isn't good for the waistline!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.