The Chequers

Many years ago, (about 18) when my parents first bought a house in the village, this house was a pub. Within a very short timescale it closed, and is now a private house. It is a shame, because the village has no amenities - no shops or pubs. Just a primary school, church and village hall. As it happens we aren't really pub goers, but it would be nice to have the choice. Our closest pub is Aylmerton. This ex pub actually featured as the setting for a sit com, but we can't remember it's name. It only had about 6 episode. It gave a brief bit of fame to our village though....before we were here!

Today I got to work really late after a frustratingly long journey in standstill traffic. My very short week is catching up with me, and as usual I haven't managed to do all I wanted to do. Tomorrow I have the afternoon off. I hope to see one of my best friends from Linton, then later I will be staying over at Karen's as we have an early start Friday. We have a long planned weekend away, and will be driving up to March early Friday to catch a train. I'll tell you more as the week goes on. I'm getting excited! Two weekends away on the trot. I'm spoilt.

I got home at 6 and did half an hour of Wii dancing. I didn't even ask for help turning it on! Jon arrived just after me. He has a day at home, then is back to Cambridge Friday.

We took a long walk round the village just catching the last of the daylight. It was nice not having to do it on my own!

Off to bed now. The washing up hasn't been done....but he says he'll do it tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.