Civic Duty

Today is Election Day in Britain and polling day for us Scots to elect the new members for the Scottish Parliament.
His Lordship and I are off to put our crosses in the appropriate boxes and as we have our own personal views on politics, I have no idea how HL will vote, although I have been vocal enough with my views that he probably guesses where my pencil will land and not necessarily as in the blip.

When we lived in the old castle we voted at the local primary school and would take the opportunity to peer into classrooms and admire the children's handiwork in the corridors, some belonging to my own children.
Now living in the Dower House, our polling station is in a local hotel which I find rather unnerving as possibly do the hotel guests even though the general razzmatazz is kept to a minimum.

It seems that the outcome of the election in Scotland is a foregone conclusion for the Scottish Nationalists, but the result determining the main opposition party is still in contention and might be a close run thing.
There will, I'm sure, be some tactical voting given the proximity to the EU referendum and the possibility of Britain leaving, which paves the way for the Scottish Nationalists who want to stay in the EU to demand another separation referendum.
Never has the word 'referendum' had so many airings as in the last two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.