Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Heritage

... my offering for #MM120! I'm afraid this is the only thing there was time for for the theme... A building I have blipped before - which is the original Burj Khalifa... a watchtower of old which is located on the Creek and was used as a look out to view ships entering and leaving Dubai. I hope you can make out the "face".

You will know that there isn't that much written history of this area. The oldest building - the old Fort which now houses the Dubai Museum dates back to 1787 - if then. Most of the houses of wealthy merchants were made using coral - which is what this watchtower is made of. Ordinary people lived in homes made using what was readily available - mainly bits of the palm tree! True story.

Despite the lack of written history, there is a lot of heritage here and Dubai have big hopes at the moment of getting UNESCO World Heritage Site status for the Creek.

Came home via the local hypermarket and this place. Practicality calls I'm afraid. Nice to have the evening at home though. Can't believe it is not 10:30 yet, and my blip could be posted. I could even be in bed by 11!! A record! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.