OLD WINDMILL

The Mono Monday challenge today is " Heritage ".  I have blipped an old disused windmill which is situated in Chase Park in Whickham.  There are no records of when the windmill was built but parish records refer to a mill on the site as early as 1567 - at that time it belonged to the Lord Of The Manor - The Bishop of Durham. The miller received part of the corn in payment. The mill was ruined when the Scots invaded in 1640. It has been a Grade 2 listed building since 1985. For a close up of the Mill look HERE.  I almost blipped this close up shot but in the end I preferred the distant shot framed by the cherry blossom.

The park itself was previously the private estate of Whickham Chase, formerly known as Whickham House.  In the 1800’s the Forster family who lived there had a horse named “Underhand” which won the Northumberland plate in 1857 &1859 and it is thought he renamed his house from Whickham House to The Chase. It was the residence of several prosperous local professional gentleman, industrialists and merchants. The earliest evidence of people living there is 1714.

The last owner sold the site in 1937 to Whickham Urban District Council, which became part of Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council in 1974. The house was demolished in the 1960's but the gardens remain as well as the stable block. I do remember seeing the house when I visited the park as a child.  Lots of heritage there I think.  Thanks to Nikimags888 for hosting the challenge this month.

A usual Monday for me - walked down to the village for some shopping and then down again later for Slimming World.  Lost 1½ pounds this week.  Back on track after last weeks weight gain.  Tonight we collected clothes to help raise money for Cancer Research.  We did a clothes swap first and what was left over was given to the charity. I took a big bag of clothes and found 4 tops which I liked to bring home with me.  Some of the ladies modelled the items they had chosen - it was great fun.

The weather today has been lovely again.  I could easily get used to this nice weather.  Hope it continues.

Steps today - 11,436

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.