Watch out!

Well I did go into Plymouth! Mainly because my car needs new tyres and my aunt, cousin and her two daughters are coming in just over a weeks time so my car needs to be in tip top condition! Annoyingly the tyres had not arrived so I have to go in again friday! I asked if they knew which number bus would take me to The Hoe - they didn't have a clue but did have a spare mechanic! So I drove in and he drove my car back!
I have only been to the Hoe with my class and so have never had the time to really look at all the memorials there. I have been round the Lighthouse and videoed my children being pushed round it as the staff sang "Everything's Round in a Lighthouse!" Well there are certainly some impressive statues - Drake, a pilot- the only international air monument in the world apparently, the National Armada and Plymouth Naval memorials. I was in seventh heaven - structures to photograph! I was most taken by Neptune and my blip of the statue of Amphitrite riding sea horses. maybe it was because she sure looked like I feel given that I am menopausal and thyroidal!!!
I of course took loads of the Lighthouse or Smeaton's Tower as it is named, it is the third and most notable Eddystone Lighthouse! I also took The Lido which is 1935 Art Deco, but not open just yet for the season.  If you want to see them all then they are here!
After all this I walked through the city centre to have lunch and a look round the Museum and Art gallery - a place I have never been! Sadly it's closed on mondays! So I had a coffee in The caffeine cafe, which had the smelliest unisex toilet I have ever been in! On the way to the bus stop I stopped at my favourite shop in the shopping mall and bought things I didn't really need! But I have now got  two chinese lanterns and bunting, all solar powered which will look great on my soon to be painted beetroot shed!  Feeling a mite tired by now I caught the bus back to the garage and having made myself a sweet rhubarb tea ( also carry a teabag of it in my bag!)  did some blip browsing and ate a Lemon meringue Kripsy Kreme doughnut I just happened to buy as I walked through the mall! I have never had one before and oh my, I will so be doing that again! An hour and a half later I was on my way home - and once home I did nothing as was exhausted! 
So I reckon Amphitrite counts as a Heritage blip  for the lovely host of Mono Monday, Nickimags888, the rest of the statues and memorials  she is a part of sure cover a fair chunk of our heritage! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.