Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Feed the birds

This afternoon I went down to Southampton to look at rugs in John Lewis.  Yes, I know I could do it online, but I like to actually see what I'm buying (or not!)  They had a beautiful bunch of exactly the small and rather unusual size I wanted but they were wickedly expensive and I need two!  So I decided to sleep on it.

However, it was a gorgeous late afternoon/early evening so I walked down through Old Town to Town Quay.  Poor Southampton still suffers from being so flattened in the war - well with its docks and the Supermarine aircraft factory quelle surprise.  

However, the small area of Old Town, by the best surviving bits of the old city walls, is really rather lovely.  There are some nice old buildings and  2 or 3 pretty incredible medieval houses.  Parts of Town Quay are scruffy and broken but it's also where the Isle of Wight ferry starts down the Solent.

I took this pic in Mayflower Park.  The docks are largely off to the right of the picture.  I talked to the utterly delightful lady feeding the birds, who showed me the bird photos taken this afternoon on her phone.  So of course she is my blip.

Now I'm totally exhausted.  Phew!  But I wish you a very good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.