FLOWER FRIDAY

One flower that grows really well in our garden is Aquilegia - and because we have a lot of them, they seed all over the place - this one was behind the raspberry canes, so it does need to be transplanted into the flower garden.  It is such a beautiful colour - my colour in fact, that I really want to save it - but before it’s moved, I wanted to give it a few moments of glory on Blip.

I decided to cut the flower and bring it indoors, so that I can enjoy it on the kitchen windowsill - along with the dandelion seedheads in their vases.  When I got it indoors and started to take photographs, I was amazed at how beautiful it was at the back of the actual flower, something I had never really noticed before.  After taking about 50 shots - I know, it’s rather a lot, but we blippers are like that - I decided on this one, with Mr. HCB’s help.  He knows when I say “Could you do me a favour?” that I will want him to help in making a decision about which shot is best.

If you look closely you will see there is even a little greenfly on the petal - so we are hoping the ladybirds will soon be around to get rid of these.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting the Flower Friday challenge.

The more often we see the things around us - 
even the beautiful and wonderful things - 
the more they become invisible to us. 
That is why we often take for granted 
the beauty of this world: 
the flowers, the trees, the birds, the clouds - 
even those we love. 
Because we see things so often, 
we see them less and less. 
Joseph B. Wirthlin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.