HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LINDA!

I don’t often miss Abstract Thursday, but as I was meeting my friend, Linda, for the first time since February, decided that my Blip today had to be a photograph of her.

We had hoped to meet yesterday, which was her birthday, but she assured me that in Bulgaria, they often celebrate for up to two weeks afterwards - so we met today at "Made by Bob" in Cirencester, halfway between Swindon, where I live and Cheltenham, where she lives.

Linda told me the reason she couldn’t meet me yesterday was because she is going to English classes and hopes that her English will improve - I told her again that my Bulgarian was “zilch” so I admire her for being so positive in her endeavours.  One only has to think of “there, their and they’re” and “bow and bough” and “row and rough” and many other words like these to realise that English is quite a difficult language to learn and speak but I am sure she will get there and she knows that I will help her as much as I can.

I tried to “treat” her for her birthday, but she insisted that in Bulgaria, the person who had the birthday paid - so I let her pay just this time.  

It was so good to catch up with her and we had lots to talk about.  We chatted, we laughed and we really enjoyed being together - true friendship - and before we knew it two hours had passed and we had to leave each other, but promised it would not be so long before we meet again.

People don’t always need advice.
Sometimes all they really need
     is a hand to hold, 
          an ear to listen,
and a heart to understand them - 
     in other words, a true friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.