Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Arth and Aggie's day out (with hapless Hattie)

After a superb breakfast of cereal, lovely fresh fruits, yoghurt, juice, scrambled egg and toast, I set off for Skye. It has been a beautiful day, but a bit chilly at times.

My aim was to visit the area of Skye called The Quiraing. Those of you have been there know that this is dramatic ridge of landslips, creating pinnacles and odd shapes in huge in land "cliffs".

It was hard to choose one image to show you quite what the area is like. It's breathtakingly beautiful. Today there was no wind, so walking along the highest ridge was a delight. Lots of people were out walking too, so I met walkers of several nationalities. The Old Man of Storr looked splendid but I've chosen an image from farther north.

I was out so long that I was going to be much later at my B & B than expected. I had to wait for a signal to contact the owners. I decided to find food en route. There are remarkably few restaurants or pubs on the island. It's strange when there are so many visitors. I was lucky to find a table in the bar at the Edinbane Inn. The food there is superb.

My B & B is in a bungalow almost at the end of the Ardmore Peninsula. I have a room with a wonderful view and I'm very comfy. 

Arth, Aggie and Hattie (my sore left hip) all had a good workout today. The problem was not the scrambling uphill, tough though that was in places, but the coming down. It was a long way and very steep.

I was delighted to see a bath and not just a shower in my bathroom. Even bath foam was provided, so I poured some in and added the hot water. Bliss. Then I thought I might just try pressing one of the extra buttons. An instant jacuzzi effect BUT it blew the foam up and I was almost overwhelmed by it!!  It was an "interesting" experience.

I must mention Holly from last night's B & B. She insisted that I text to say when I was safely back from the hills. She says she does this for people staying with her, or people like me who are alone and moving on to the next B & B who might assume they are "no shows" when they are injured. What a star!

Tomorrow I sail to Harris and then to Scarp. I am unlikely to appear here until later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.