mef13

By mef13

Patriotism

I guess if you are planning a street party or even a barbecue in your garden with friends on the Queen’s official birthday next month then a couple of figures like this alongside might be appropriate.
After all, it is something of an occasion when our longest serving monarch reaches her 90th birthday.
But I have to admit that the garden effigy of the Queen herself did take me by surprise a bit when I came across an entire shelf of them on display and for sale  at a local supermarket.
Somehow, I felt that it was not quite the done thing, but on reflection I guess that any party in the locality to celebrate the Queen’s official special birthday with a big ‘0’ is meant to be a light-hearted affair, and looking at the figure in that light, I became more attuned to an equally cheery picture in my mind, recalling some of the barbecues we have held in the past.

Yet, whatever I find myself doing on June 11, and I am as patriotic as I could be, I don’t think this pair will be joining me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.